Politicians are more responsible for the protection of the environment than individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The extent of environmental degradation has sparked outrage around the world, and opinions differ whether individuals or civic authorities should be held accountable for this damage. I believe that the primary onus of environment preservation is on selected political leaders, however, the role of general public cannot be neglected.

To start with, the environmental imbalance is a widespread issue, therefore to combat this issue government has a larger role to play. This is because selected civic anarchies have an abundance of resources to resolve this ecological destruction. For instance, presently many governments are imposing ban on fuel consuming motor vehicles to restrict the unprecedented carbon emission which is highly responsible for increasing global heat. Apart from this, these legislators can execute several environmental protection laws in order to mitigate a plethora of ecological disorders such as excessive plastic usage, contamination of natural water resources. Hence, the major responsibility of environment safety lies with politicians.

Nevertheless, Inspite of multiple efforts from government to preserve natural ambiance of the earth, the individual accountability of public cannot be ignored. The reason behind this is If people at ground level will not support and collaborate with civil laws than it might be impossible for government to protect the environment damage. This can be experienced in Kenya, where despite the governmental ban on plastic polythenes, people are using them extensively, which is causing several ecological issues such as air pollution, and death of marine wildlife due to the consumption of plastic waste. Therefore, individuals have a vital role to play in the rehabilitation of damaging environment.

In conclusion, I consider that to ameliorate the unprecedented environment destruction both government and public have indispensable part to perform , whereas, government being a powerful agency can tackle this issue on broader scales.