"Prevention is better than cure." Out of a country's health budget,

a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A famous proverb says, "Eat an apple every day, keeps doctors away". From our childhood, our society and parents teach us to practice preventive actions to stay away for health diseases, but health issue of citizens are major concern for government. Therefore, I accord with the notion of diversion of significant amount of health budgets from treatments to health educations and preventive solutions.

To embark on, millions of rupees are spent by individuals to cure their diseases, so do regimes in establishment of multi-specialty hospitals, medicine researches and so on. Government can save enormous amount of revenue if they shift their focus on health education. Firstly, through the support of media houses, heads of the state can spread awareness and benefits of inclusion of exercise in people's life. It is scientifically proven that exercise enhance our immune system, as a result less vulnerable to illness. Secondly, if spending on promoting sports and establishing play grounds increase by governments, it attracts those people, who wants to inculcate sports in their life but unable to do so due to infrastructure, which eventually attracts others who are less enthusiast to sports.

Moreover, there is no ending on diseases and their treatment. No one can guarantee that erecting the finest hospitals will make citizens healthy, while health education and preventive measures can. For instance, diabetes and heart attacks can be prevent just by taking few simple steps in one's life such as early morning walks and eat healthy. Furthermore, everybody knows that treatments of these diseases are costly and can use all their savings, if not insurance company has to pay a huge amount. In addition, ban on smoking, drinking also plays important role in overall health of a community.

To sum up, although in today's scenario investment in health care is important, but governments much shift their spending towards health education and preventive measures if they want a healthy society in the future, and cost involve in awareness programs are less and extremely effective in terms of revenue.