There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

You should write at least 250 words.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

We love listening to music whether we are at home, at work or on the streets. In fact, music has become a part of our daily life whether it is traditional music or international music. Therefore it is fair to suggest that we need music because it is good for our souls, and it helps calm ourselves down during the time of stress and anxiety besides conveying our human feeling from generation to generation. Because both “traditional music” and “international music” types enjoy a certain degree of popularity among the music lovers, I am not hesitant to say that both of them are equally important for a country.

Traditional music, of course, can help understand the important elements of culture, heritage, history and the emotions of a particular country. But that does not necessarily mean that those particular “elements” always remain the same. They also go through some internal changes as the time progresses and simply because we, humans, are just not programmed to remain the same always. These changes certainly reflect in the “traditional music” as well, be it through a different kind of rhythm or a different kind of musical instrument. And, if these “changes” indeed are incorporated in the “traditional music”, they do not always remain “traditional”! Besides, who is to decide what is “traditional music” and which is ‘international music”, when many “not-so” traditional elements of international music are getting integrated into the traditional music easily and rather “successfully” sometimes. For example, the “traditional tabla” (made of woods) in Bangladeshi folk songs is frequently being replaced by “metal made drums”, but it doesn’t exactly reduce the appeal and traditional value of that particular type of folklore songs in any manner.

Then, of course, there are satellite TV channels and the internet which have virtually erased the already “not-so” visible boundary line between traditional music and international music whereby we are continuously being “subject” to the music of other countries. Sometimes, we actually even like music from other countries. But in that case, it does not mean that our traditional music is becoming any less important to us.

To conclude, traditional music and international music are equally important for a country if it wants to preserve and also carry forward its traditions and cultures.