Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

To be a prosperous nation or a society, people must be healthy. Although some people believe that government should increase sporting facilities to improve public health, others believe that only sporting facilities will not be enough to improve health of individuals, and other measures needed as well. In my opinion, importance, awareness and benefits must be spread by government in addition to sports facilities to have a healthy community.

Sports play vital role to improve one's health condition. Therefore, facilities like playing ground, infrastructure and equipment must be easily available to an individual so that he/she can practice. For instance, Indian government has launched "Khel India" scheme to enhance sporting infrastructure in the country, as a result hundreds of new stadiums are established. But, are these facilities really utilised to its optimum level? Are people of the society aware of this initiative?

If people of the community knows the benefits of sport by inculcating in their life, then only a society or a nation can expect a healthy society or a nation in future. Government must promote health awareness programs in regular interval via various means such as e-media, newsletters, public announcements etc. To illustrate, these days city marathon and city cycling events are immensely popular in urban areas to make people aware of health. Government has funded many NGOs to spread benefits of sports and information about new facilities installed in the society.

To sum up, to improve health of a society, sports facilities are required. However, if individuals are not aware of merits of exercise and sports in their life, then just establishing state-of-art sport facilities will not help government to have a healthy nation.