Psychological illnesses may not be as obvious as physical disabilities or illnesses, nevertheless they are just as disabling in their own way. Society, however, is more accepting of those with physical than psychological illnesses or disabilities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In today world, more than one tenth of the world population suffers from some sort of psychological problems, yet the mental illness gets far less priority than it actually deserves as compared to the physical disabilities. The worst scenario is that minor psychical issues are generally ignored by the parents, while serious issues are heinously treated by the doctors. Whether more concern should be put on physical problems or psychological problems will be discussed further in this essay.

To embark on, people suffering from any king of physical disabilities are treated by the doctors using the best equipment and medicine, however the person suffering from non-physical problems are treated with a lot of cruelty wither by locking them in a room or using electric shock therapies. Moreover, the hospitals, doctors and nurses available to cure bodily troubles are easily accessible as compared to those treating mental troubles. For example, a recent WHO study shows that the number of medical institutes assigned for treating people with cognitive problems is less than 20%.

Furthermore, the perception of the society towards a mentally sick child is different than a physically unfit child. While parents boldly discuss the bodily difficulties, they generally hide their children with brain related issues so that they are not mistreated. The astigmatism of the community towards such children causes difficulty for such children to be socially independent and compete with the world. Although the world allocated a lumpsum budget in the research of deadly diseases, there is hardly any money assigned for treating people with psychical troubles.

To conclude, in my opinion the public should change to old belief about the mental problems and efficient and efficacious therapy in treating psychological problems should be given as much important as treating physical issues