By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Punishment for any crime is necessary for the welfare of the society but it must be taken care that the how much it is effective to improve a person. I totally agree with the statement that death penalty is not a better punishment to make a person feel his guilt rather we can give life imprisonment to think about how bad he had done and make him realize that this blunder mistake will costs to his family too.

Admittedly, death penalty will not give punishment to the murderer only, but also to his family and friends too. Although murdering a person is also like finishing the whole family as the life of all related people will be disturbed but if law gives death penalty then they are doing the same. Moreover, there will be no time to make realize a murderer what he had done.

Another point to consider is that sometimes person did such crimes due to influence of some addicted material such as alchohol, brown sugar, etc. He could lost his mind and did such crimes with unconscious mind. By improving his personality instead of giving death penalty, society is giving him second chance and he could become an example for other people who are addicted.

To conclude, I agree that a murderer should be given life imprisonment rather than death penalty so as to make him realize what he had done and also set an example for others to get rid of addiction and live better life.