Questions: In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Recently, some research appeals that many small shops in our city are closed because more and more people are willing to purchase their goods in large shopping centers or malls. To some extend, I think that it could be a good development, but there are also details I want to clarify.

First of all, how this phenomenon occurred that most of people go the the large shops but not the small one. From my point of view, there are two mainly reasons. Firstly, people are working much more time than before at nowadays, and they normally just do one shopping activity in the weekend to save the time. Therefore, selecting the bigger shops which could provide more categories of goods as well as have a cheaper price than tiny shop is the first option. Secondly, it usually has some playing places for keeping the children for parents when they are doing the shopping. Eventually, the kids are well looked after in the playground then parents could enjoy their shopping time. Thus, I believe that people's life are ease by shopping in the greater place.

However, the closing of loads of small shops means that there are many people are losing their jobs, which is a really bad news and would bring negative emotion to persons who lose jobs and also unstable factors to our society. So our government need to take into account of this situation and make some plans to let those people find the new jobs.

In conclusion, despite of the bad impact of closing of tiny shops, I argue that there are more positive effects were brought that people are doing more and more shopping in larger shops.