In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that these days purchasing goods at supermarkets or malls are significantly increasing which leads to the closure of many small local shops. In my opinion, there are both benefits and drawbacks of this development.

On the one hand, it is obvious that there are several disadvantages when small shops have closed. Firstly, shopping in the supermarket usually takes plenty of time and money to travel, and in some cases, it is not convenient for people who just want to buy small things. This is because small shops are often near their house. Furthermore, the price of products in shopping centres is often higher than that in small shops. This could be attributed to the fact that small shops do not need to pay more additional fees such as security, the system of air-conditioning and so on. As a result, such development could discourage certain groups of people with low income from going shopping comfortably,

On the other hand we cannot deny that buying goods in big shops has many advantages. The first benefit is that supermarkets always supply a wide range of products with good quality. Therefore people can buy whatever they need to serve their daily life. In addition, shopping in malls would foster family’s relationship. This is because such destinations are ideal places for family members to enjoy quality time together.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that buying products in big shopping centres or malls are dramatically raising resulting in many small shops have stopped which have not only advantages but also disadvantages.