In recent years , many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.Is this a positive or negative development ?

These days Retail outlets are being replaced by large super-market or departmental stores in most places in the world. Some people really welcome such change whereas others argue that it is not a beneficial advancement to the community. I tend to believe that although these recent developments have made shopping quite comfortable and quicker, it has brought some negative consequence to the local vendors and people of lower income group.

Those who advocate that shopping malls are better than the road-side shops say that the concept of buying a variety of goods under the single roof has brought in several advantages to the customers. For example, it saves more time that we spend in shopping. Furthermore, transparent display and easy accessibility of goods at the malls enables customers to pick and check the quality as well as the content of the product that they are going to buy. However, I tend to believe that despite the few advantages the shopping malls can never replace the facility that the neighborhood sellers offer us.

To begin with, small shops in the local area offers a more personal connection to the customers when comparing to the huge multiplex stores. In addition to this, departmental stores are rather expensive than local shopping outlets. Moreover, small vendors those who these shops for their daily living gets largely impacted because of this negative trend. As they could able to afford huge investments to face the competitions from bigger players, they soon run out of occupation in the future.

In conclusion, in spite of offering a variety of benefits such as easy shopping, time-saving etc, the large shopping malls or supermarkets can never be the complete alternative to the consumers. In my opinion, there should be enough space for small vendors to set up their business and offer goods and services to regional customers. In order to have a balanced economy, the government shall find a mid-way to tackle this recent economic trend.