In recent years , many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development ?

With the rapid development in society, shopping trend has changed swiftly toward shopping malls from local shops. In my opinion, this trend change is positive considering benefits to the consumer in various aspects.

First and foremost, with emerging of shopping centers and malls, people now getting all their household items under one roof. Few years back, they have to relied on scattered small shops to buy their daily routing goods, and sometime that required to visit different shops to buy routine items. But thanks to super markets, all daily needs items are available at single place. one example of this is Big Bazaar, where people can buy groceries, vegetables, snacks, cloths etc. Needless to say this is a time-saving and increasing shopping experience of consumers. Furthermore, most of the shopping malls are equipped with movie theater and gaming zone. so people of all ages can spend good time along with shopping at one place.

Another advantage is, people getting good deals on their purchase. Often malls are offering discounts and items on cheap rate compare to local shops. By this way, customer can take financial aid of it as well. With rising number of super malls, people gets variety of services and products in reasonable price, and this could be counted as major plus point of having large shopping center.

To sum up, thought local shops has detrimental impact because of people get diverted to large shopping mall, this could be considered as positive development from the consumer prospective.