In recent years , many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.Is this a positive or negative development ?

Shopping in malls have become increasingly popular among customers these days. This results in the shut down of the small local shops. Shopping from large malls provide goods with great quality and a wider variety but such transition affecting local shops causing shut down. I feel shifting from local shops to large malls is a positive development which is explained in this essay.

Buyers moved from small shops to large malls can be termed as a negative development. Most of the local sellers belong to lower-middle strata of the society and this transition affected them drastically. It is reported that many small shop sellers committed suicide being unable to run their family as most of the people choose big shopping centers to buy goods. Such big malls resulted in negative development as it completely erased the local shop communities.

Large shopping malls contributed to the positive development of our society. The quality and variety of products buyers experience in malls can never be found in local shops. According to a survey, shoppers are attracted to shopping malls due to the attractive discounts which cannot be found in local shops. The malls contribute to positive development since it takes care of the main need of their consumers very well.

In recent days, large shopping centers have become the most favorable place for shopping in comparison to local shops. Though, this shift contributes to positive development as the consumer gets products of different variants and premium quality. This cause closing down of local shops which contribute to the negative development of society. To sum up, I feel shopping in malls is always positive for people and should be encouraged.