In recent years, the structure of a family and the role of its members are gradually changing.

What kinds of changes can occur?

Do you think these changes are positive and negative

In recent times, the dynamics of family have been changing in every part of the world. The patriarchy is slowly shifting it’s course as both the partners are considered equal. Despite the drastic change, I think this is definetly a positive sign in the society.

To commence, earlier in the patriarchal society, father/husband made decisions in the family as he was the breadwinner. In contrast to this, today both the partners are working to meet the financial demands. As a result, decisions are made together. In addition to this, couples in this generation prefer to stay away from their families due to their careers. Unlike the family-owned businesses earlier, most of the individuals have different careers, in contrast to their parents. Thus, with the current demands and requirements in society, it is obvious that changes occur in the family dynamics.

However, the drastic shift of family situations can be considered positive for various reasons. Firstly, the burden of running a family with a single income is now shared by both the partners. This relaxed men, as in this generation they are seen less aggressive. Secondly, many youngsters previously relied on family businesses as they did not have much of an option, but where as now, peole are not judged based on their career choices any more. Thirdly, large joint families needs lot of nurturing as even a slightest disagreement can break the family. Therefore, today’s generation prefers nuclear families. Thus, the potives of today’s family situations definetly overweigh the negatives.

To conclude, although it is rare to witness close-knitted families, I believe the shift in family dynamics should be seen as a positive sign.