The restoration of old buildings in major cities around the world costs enormous amount of money. This money would be better spent on providing new housing and road development.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Cultural heritage stands for things that have been passed on from earlier generations to the present generation and old buildings are one of them. As the time passes away, the need for renovation of these premises incline. Although it has been a debatable issue among society whether money should be spent in restoration of old buildings, a bunch of people believe that government should invest in providing commodities to people and developing the road system because refurbishment of ancient structures draw away a huge amount of money. This essay will discuss why the repairing of historical buildings is important.

Two main reasons are behind the need of refurbishment of ancient buildings. Firstly, these premises play an important role in order to attract tourists, therefore helping the economic growth of a country. However, if proper fixing of these buildings will not be done, these will not be popular among tourists. For instance, last year Indian government announced that 84% of national as well as international tourists scheduled their visit to historical buildings which increased about 17% of the nation revenue. Thus, repairing of such premises is worth doing as these structures act as good tourists spots.

In addition, being the source of evidences regarding the cultural heritage and history of a particular region, these buildings act as a great source of education for the visitors, especially school going children. The history is published in the different forms in the buildings like boards hanging on the walls, books, et cetera. For example, many schools visit these architectures along with their students in order to widen their horizon in the field of history and culture of a specific region. That is why; restoration of these buildings is prominent.

In conclusion, this essay argued why repairing of old structures is important. In my opinion, the renovation of ancient properties to be very much crucial because they are a great source of income to nation as well as education to the children: two most important assets nowadays.