With the rise of the internet more and more people are getting their news from social media platforms.

Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

It has been noticed that masses tend to rely more on social media for news because internet access is becoming more convenient. There are several pros and cons of this trend, however, I believe that benefits are more than the drawbacks.

As we are living in the era of technogology, people are adopting new living styles with the changes in technology. With the invention of user friendly scoial media platforms, it has become easier for the users to access current affairs. Moreover, the area covered with internet availability has increased exponentially in the last few years which has made it possible for more people to connect with the world. As it has become easier to access internet, people are relying more on social media platforms like facebook, twitter for getting themselves updated with what is happening around them.

This rising trend has several advantages and disadvantages. Interms of pros, it saves a lot of time as we can get news with a simple click of two. Secondly, social media platfrom provide great search functionality which enables us to search for same news originating from different sources for verifying the authenticity. Thirdly, we can easily share the news with our friends circle while we are on social media platform. On the contrary, there are some cons for this trend as well, for example, the authenticity of content shared on sicial media is doubted sometimes because of many fake news circlulating on social media. Moreover, it has been observed that social media platform can easily distract users and that could be a reason for time wastage.

Although we cannot deny the disadvantages, I believe there are several steps taken by social media companies to ensure the authenticity of shared content. For instance, introduction of blue tick infront of username is a great step to validate the content shared.

Concluding the the above discussion, I would say that social media platforms have become a great source for getting news. There are several pros and cons however, based on the above discussion, I believe advantages certainly overweigh the disadvantages.