Science is advanced so fast that it can now make it possible for people to live 100 years or even 200 years. Some people think it is beneficial, while others think it will cause problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With advancement in medicine, the longevity of the person has increased and people tend to live for more than 100 years. Whether having long life is viewed as beneficial or dismal? This conundrum is mulled over in the given essay below.

Countries like Japan and Switzerland boasts of higher life expectancy of their people and this is achieved due to reasons like accessibility of good healthcare systems. Usually, people fear death and everyone wants to live as long as possible. It’s a happy moment for humans to see their grandchildren and witness their growth. With extremely busy work schedule, there is a little time left for people to spend on their hobbies and leisure activities during their youth, which they postpone to be accomplish at the time of retirement. Also, with old people around they can retell the history of their period and impart their wisdom to newer generations.

On the contrary, some view living longer than average age as a curse. Not all the old people are healthy, some of them suffer from chronic diseases and dementia and are dependent on others for help and often lonely. In most developed countries government funds for expensive healthcare procedure. With the growing aging population and energy boosting medications, many old people tend to work past their retirement age. Resultant to which, many youths do not find opportunities as companies do not wish to let go their experienced employees and hire inexperienced young people.

Based on the above discussion, aging population with dysfunctional life and disabilities are certainly not considered positive. However, if the person is aging with no illness and is healthy, it would be helpful for the society to gain the wisdom and advice from such old people for critical decisions in future.