Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.Discuss both these views and give your opinion

People have different views about spending public money that is taken by taxes on saving languages which are spoken just by a few numbers of local people in rural or distant areas of the globe. While there are some persuasive arguments in favor of saving languages that are in danger of extinction, I believe this trend would be useless and it is just wasting money.

There are various reasons why I would argue that spending a large amount of money on saving languages that are spoken by small numbers of people is futile. Firstly, the public money should be spent on projects that benefit all residents and enhance the quality of their life such as social welfare, health services and education. Secondly, these are vanity projects for politicians and government authorities that help them to become more popular among people and they are highly unlikely to become a success. Finally, speaking a unique language is beneficial for governments and people in terms of communication, global trading and studying. To support my claim, I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, indicates that in 2003, UK spent more than 15 million dollars to train teachers who teach people skittish language which was in verge of extinction. Unfortunately, they could not reach their goals and it was a fiasco for the government.

On the other hand, the importance of saving languages should not be neglected. Nowadays, there are as many local languages as ethnic minorities and language should not be considered simply as a means of communication. It is proved that a language has a vital connection with the cultural identity of people and it represents the culture, custom and traditions of individuals. A particularly salient example of this is the Greece's remains from the time of their ancestors which need to be translated into their dominant language. It would not be feasible without any knowledge of the Greece's ancient language.

In conclusion, although there are some positive aspects in saving the spoken languages that are in danger of vanishing, the drawbacks by far outweigh the advantages. Governments can eradicate poverty, diminish the increased number of crimes and enhance the quality of life for all the residents by spending the public money on social welfare.