Shops should not be allowed to sell food and drinks that are scientifically proven to be bad for people’s health.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement in urbanisation and industrialisation, the ethics and morals of businesses have been compromised a lot. In the pursuit of profit maximisation, the businesses do not hesitate to compromise on the consumers’ health. In the recent phenomenon, the increasing tendency has been observed in the selling of unhealthy edible items in stores. In my opinion, the shops should not be authorised to sell unhealthy food and drinks because of the issues it brings for the people and the governments.

To begin with, people do not posses sufficient knowledge in differentiating between healthy and unhealthy food items. To clarify, at first, people often neglect the list of ingeridients mentioned on the products while buying any product. Therefore, they are not sure about the impact of the product on their health which they are consuming. Secondly, companies usually print symbols of the ingredients they use in the processing of consumable items. Hence, even people with a tendency to read about the products are not In a position to understand the properties of the chemicals used in the products.

Furthermore, unhealthy people put strain on government budgets. The governments have often limited resources to manage all the sectors of the country. Hence, the increase health budget due to increase in health problem will enforced governments to cut the budgets from the other project that can benefit the nations in the furture. For instance, many countries are investing in Artifical intelligence because of the potential benefit it entails for the nations. But, if govenrments have to spend more money in providing health facilities to the nation it can erode the future progress of country due to diversion of budgets to health sector.

To conclude, evidence mentioned above provide strong evidence that allowing shops to sell unhealthy items to consumers can increase health issues. Resultanlty, an increase in the unhealthy people will force governments to cut budgets from beneficial projects and invest in providing health facilities to the nation.