Shops should not be allowed to sell any food or drinks that have been scientifically proven to be bad for people’s health.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years consumption of junk food is rapidly increasing and there are those who claim that unhealthy food should be banned for selling to the general public. I completely support this notion because an unhealthy diet leads to significant health issues among the population.

First, it is science-backed that such products as prepackaged food or fast food is high in saturated fat, sugar and salt and increases risk of obesity, high-blood pressure, stroke and other diet-related diseases. In addition, this kind of food is highly addictive and unfortunately, there are a significant number of humans who cannot control the quantity of its intake. That is why I firmly believe that dangerous food or drinks have to be forbidden for sale in general stores or restaurant chains.

Secondly, this measure will definitely result in improvements of public health and consequently society will become more productive. Hopefully, the overall citizen’s lifestyle will change to a more active and healthy way of life. In addition, every member of our society including the younger generation will become more aware of the quality of food and how it affects their health. For example, if someone does not have the possibility to consume harmful meals, they will automatically purchase and eat more healthily and enjoy simple taste, textures and natural foods such as vegetables, fruits, whole grains, unrefined oils and fresh meat products.

In conclusion, I totally agree that food and drinks putting human health into risk should be forbidden for sale in shops due to the fact that these kinds of products have an extremely negative impact on public health.