Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the reals need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

There is an opinion that the popularity of some best-sellers lies in the magic of advertising and does not reflect the true needs of the population, which is buying all this stuff. I completely agree with this idea as a large number of people’s desires are growing from ubiquitous adverts.

First, nowadays advertisements are an ever-present phenomenon and pop-up from every-single corner such as TV, radio and the Internet. There is no person on the planet who was able to hide from the influence of mass media. Thus, all these commercials impact our behaviour and choice. In fact, human-beings are significantly social creatures and they tend to subconsciously choose goods and services that are hype. For instance, once I had bought ridiculously high-heels boots, even though I was not able to wear them. The only reason for the mentioned purchase was that they were all the rage at the moment.

Second, the true need of everyone is compassion, love, sense of purpose, health, etc. Frankly speaking, even cutting-edge technologies such as the latest model of iPhone are not able to make a person happy without loving family, faithful friends and strong health. All these widely-advertised consumer goods just give a glimpse of satisfaction, which also quickly fades away. To illustrate, some people, despite not having any decent shelter and necessities for comfortable life, take credits for brand-new mobiles or other modern gadgets.

In conclusion, I totally agree with the point of view that the real demand of the society differs from the consumption, the rate of which is explained by the success of an advertisement company.