Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that juvenile criminals committing severe crimes have to be prosecuted on the same basis and laws as adults. I completely agree with this notion, with only one exception if they were not forced to commit a crime by an adult.

On the one hand, nowadays, brutality in juvenile crimes is increasing at alarming rates, and sentencing the youth to the fullest extent of the law can be an effective preventive measure as well as an adequate punishment. I believe that there is no difference in who commits harsh crimes; people who do it should be punished accordingly. For instance, in a recent notorious case, two female adolescents beat a man using a can, raped him using a stick, and later on, police discovered the victim covered in blood in a public toilet. This kind of cruelty cannot be diminished by the age of a criminal.

However, sometimes the youth can be involved in criminal activity by hardened criminals or even forced to kill somebody under the threat of violence. This kind of situation has to be thoroughly examined and a young age criminal should be prosecuted on the basis of their motive for an act and brutality degree. To illustrate, the youth being involved in organized crime can simply shoot somebody or commit the same homicide along with a prior rape or victim torture. It is understood that the latter cannot be mitigated based on age.

In conclusion, I totally agree that punishment for youngsters committing heavy crimes should be the same as for adults. It will play the role of a deterrent as well as fair sentencing for their offenses.