People today are not as fit as they were in the past.

What are the causes of this?

What can governments do to deal with this issue?

Nowadays, a large number of people are overweight and are not as fit as the previous generations were. In this essay, I am going to consider what reasons are behind such a negative tendency and how the government can address it.

The main reason for it is the more sedentary lifestyle than it was in the past. Modern people tend to spend a huge amount of time sitting in front of computers in offices or doing other non-active jobs. In addition, as cars are not luxuries anymore almost every family owns it and as a result, they prefer even on a short distance driving rather than going on foot. The second reason is that modern citizens eat an excessive amount of fast food, which is high in salt, sugar and saturated fat. Meanwhile, our ancestors had a much healthier choice of products and food plate mostly consisted of fresh vegetable, whole grains and meat.

In my opinion, in order to tackle the issue mentioned above, governments should encourage people to do sports and other activities by the promotion of a healthy lifestyle. For instance, the authorities could allocate fund for social free of charge sports clubs for children and seniors or construct workout grounds for everyone. As well as this, it would be great to conduct competitions where non-professional athletes were able to participate. Additionally, the government should oblige canned food and soft drink producers as well as fast-food chains’ owners to reduce the amount of sugar and salt contained in produced food. In fact, authorities should imply strict regulationцs of quality and ¬ of produced food and meals prepared in cafes and restaurants. Consequently, all the mentioned measures would lead to a healthier and fit nation.

In conclusion, the changed lifestyle of the modern generation have resulted in increased obesity rates among the population, while humans were active and, as a result, more fit in the past. Thus, the key to solving the problem is the regulations of the food industry and the promotion of sport by governments.