Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activities in many countries for young adults.

Why is this?

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Many modern adolescents tend to go shopping in their spare time. The main reason behind this tendency is that people’s communication switched to online, meanwhile people still need in-person connections and shopping has become one of the ways to do it. In my opinion, it is a negative trend because there are better ways to spend leisure time.

The main reason why shopping is on the rage among teenagers is that malls have become entertainment centers where customers can have social and emotional experiences such as face-to-face interaction with friends. It is a powerful combination of fun, entertainment, food, and drinks, which is incredibly appealing for youngsters. In addition, it is an easy and safe option as it combines real-life communication with peers, the opportunity to play games, and enjoy meals together for a reasonable price. Thus, it is quite convenient and fun.

Nevertheless, I think that it is rather negative than positive development because modern adolescents already have a sedentary lifestyle and do not have enough physical activity. As a result, a large amount of young people is overweight or obese. It is obvious that spending time with friends in food courts in supermarkets eating fast food, which is high in saturated fat, salt, and sugar, contributes to a lack of a healthy lifestyle for the younger generation. Instead, it would be much better for them to spend time on sports, hiking, and other energy-consuming activities.

In conclusion, shopping has become popular due to the fact that it is the cheapest and the easiest option for teenagers including real-life experience of interaction with each other, entertainment, and food. Despite the above-mentioned advantages of this kind of leisure time, I believe that it is a negative tendency among youngsters because young people should have an active life in order to be healthy and physically fit.