Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else?

What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Rising trend of education system provides flexibility to students of selecting the classes they want to study in. On the other hand it has been argued for quite a long time that all students should attend same classes. There are positive and negative impact of these scenarios. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of choosing the classes of their own and attending the same classes as all other students do.

To begin with, all students behave differently in different classes. For instance, one might be fond of science, while other can be interested in social science. When these students attend classes where they do not enjoy reading, they tend to get bored and waste their time. In other words, if student will choose classes as per their interest, they will do better.

On the other hand, If we see from adult's perspective, it is necessary for every child to have at least basic knowledge of each subject to survive in the society. So, they must attend all the classes.

Apart from that, we can see from the ancient education system, where we use to educate students in each and every subject, so that they can at least know about the subject and then on later stage can decide what they want to pursue. Leaving some classes just because students do not want to read the specific subject will always make them information deficient. In future, such students will not be able to get clear ideas of which subject to choose as their major subject.

To sum up, thought there are some advantages of choose classes by students as they just have to learn what interest them, they miss the opportunity to learn about other subjects which they might like in the future.