Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else?

What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The rising trend of education system is providing flexibility to students of selecting the classes they want to study in. On the other hand, it has been argued for quite a long time that all students should attend same classes as others attend. There are some positive and negative impacts of these scenarios. In this essay, I will discuss both benefits and drawbacks with some relevant examples and reasons behind this fact.

To begin with, students behave and think uniquely in different classes whereas in specific classes, they are less effective. For instance, one might be fond of science, while others could be interested in studying social science. When these students attend classes, where they do not enjoy reading, they tend to get bored and waste their crucial time. In other words, if students will choose classes as per their interest, they will do better. On the contrary, if we see from adult perspective, it is necessary for every child to have at least basic knowledge of each subject to survive in the society. So, they must attend all the classes rather attending selected classes.

We can see from the ancient education system, where we use to educate students in each and every subject, so that they can at least know about the subject and then on later stage can decide what they want to pursue in their career. Leaving some classes just because of students do not want to study the specific subject, will always make them less knowledgeable. Therefore, in the future, such students will not be able to get clear ideas of which subject to choose as their major.

To sum up, there are some advantages of choosing classes by students as they just have to learn what interest them, they miss the opportunity to learn about other subjects which they might like in the future. But, there are some disadvantages as well.