Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, children are increasingly becoming undisciplined. It is believed by some parents that smacking is the best way to discipline their offsprings. This essay will argue that it is completely unacceptable to use this physical punishment because it negatively impacts a child's mental growth, and it provokes physical violence in society.

To begin with, the use of corporal punishment should be discouraged because it is harmful to boys' and girls' intellectual growth. Since childhood is a highly vulnerable and active phase of life, minors want to try out various activities to experience new things, and their limited knowledge of what is wrong would lead to inappropriate behavior. Researchers point out that If parents beat them at this stage, it lowers their self-esteem to explore, which further causes stress and retards their mental growth. For example, Oxford University recently reported that twenty-five percent of primary school children are suffering from depression in London because of severe forms of corporal punishment such as slapping and kicking.

Another reason why smacking needs to be stopped is that it influences school-aged children to practice aggressive behavior on their classmates. This age has a high tendency to replicate the behavior learned from society, so if they see mature people are using physical force on kids, they would repeat this violent behavior on their weaker peers; and as a consequence, physical bullying like social problems are becoming more common these days. For instance, a survey has been connected by Sunday Times showed that there has been a significant increase in bullying cases in the countries where domestic corporal punishment of children is legal.

To conclude, smacking is a harmful form of punishment and guardians ought not to beat their young children to well-behaved them because it hinders their mental health and encourages them to use violence on others. It is recommended that governments should make this practice illegal and, mothers and fathers should adopt alternative ways to discipline their kids.