Small businesses should avoid recruiting young women who do not have their own family in order to avoid paying maternity leave later on.

To what extent do you agree?

Motherhood leaves are mandatory in the majority of the countries. Owing to this, a section of people believes that small companies would be benefitted if they avoid enrolling young women who have not planned a baby yet, however, I am in partial agreement with the statement. This essay highlights the facts closely.

On the one hand, small businesses have numerous compelling reasons for not recruiting women who do not have their own family. Firstly, these companies have limited investment for boosting their bottom lines, and definitely, it would be a hole in their pocket if they pay salary for maternity leaves. Secondly, in most cases, such organizations have a smaller staff, and allowing off duty for months to any of the employees would divert heavy workload on other manpower resulting in a catastrophic situation. Even if, a new employee is hired, it takes many weeks to train the person as per business requirements. What is more, studies have ascertained that women after post-maternity leaves have decreased efficiency for months as they have to manage personal health and motherhood.

On the other hand, there are a few merits for small scale organizations if they have young women in their team. First and foremost is that youngsters are enthusiastic, energetic, passionate, and full of zeal. They can work for extra hours to achieve the goals of the corporation. Another factor is that they are equipped with knowledge of the latest management skills and technology, which when applied effectively would help in propelling the business, without any skept.

In conclusion, from the above revelations, small firms would get more advantages if they avoid hiring young women planning to have a family in near future.