Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smoking is considered to be an insidious killer. It has great detrimental effects on both smokers and non-smokers. As such, certain individuals believe that smoking should be banned in public settings. I believe that smoking has harmful effects, so it should be prohibited.

There are plethora of reasons that bolster the notion that smoking should be banned in public places. Firstly, it triggers an uncomfortable situation such as a loathsome smelling to individuals who set nearby smokers. Public areas are seen as a pristine place to people gather and entertain their leisure time and breathe pure air. Another reason, it causes chronic diseases such as cancer. Non-smokers are more likely to be infected by cancer when they seat beside smokers. It has negative effects on human's health. Third reason, in public areas, smokers frequently throws their lit cigarettes in different areas and do not concentrate what will occur. Lighted cigarettes usually pose fires. In the aftermath of fires, public places will be destroyed by fires. As result, they prevent people to assemble in these settings. Smoking should be prohibited because it has adverse impacts on non-smokers.

However, Opponents of such a ban argue against it for several reasons. Firstly, each individual has a freedom to seat or carry out favorite activities in public areas. Therefore, smokers have a right to smoke tobacco in such settings. Non-smokers do not require to seat around smokers. Consequently, they do not disturb non-smokers. Second reason, exposing to smoking for a short period of time has no side effects on non-smokers. As such, non-smokers have the ability to conduct various activities with smokers in public places.

In conclusion, smoking has disgusted smelling and cause harmful consequences to healthy individuals, so it should be banned.