Social media has completely changed the way family and friends communicate with each other. WHAT are the reasons for this? IS this a positive or negative development?

It is true that routes of communication between family members and pals have been greatly changed since the advent of social media platforms. The reasons behind such a trend are variable, and I believe that this change has its benefits as well as drawbacks.

People have become tethered to their cell phones due to multiple reasons, one of which is the viable access to social media applications. Most of these applications are free of charge; hence, users can browse them all day and night making audio or video calls with their beloved ones. In addition, social media offers swiftness and feasibility for people; this is due to the fact that Internet packages are affordable for the majority of customers with ultimately high speeds. Thus, anyone can enjoy texting and talking without voice lagging during calls. None of these remarkable changes would have been possible without social media presence in our lives.

From my point of view, I hold the notion that such significant development in telecommunication ways has both merits and demerits. Regarding merits, it is possible for family members to contact one another even if they live distantly. Facebook Messenger and Whatsapp have made it accessible for their users to stay in contact, which evidently preserves unity among families; moreover, it keeps the strength of the relationships among intimate friends. As for demerits, social media has affected the sociality and the traditions negatively. For example, a vast number of individuals now opt for greeting each other during special events via social media rather than getting together and have quality time.

To conclude, plenty of reasons contribute to changing the way people communicate with each other, and I reiterate that this change has facilitated keeping people in touch; however, it has direly promoted social isolation among them.