Nowadays, it seems that people tend to waste a great amount of food. WHY do you think this is happening? HOW can we solve this problem?

It is true that huge amounts of food are being wasted by people in our recent time. This essay will discuss the possible reasons behind this trend, and it will suggest some feasible solutions to tackle this problem.

In fact, there are a plethora of compelling reasons that contribute to wasting food by people, the most important of which is advertisement. Food adverts tend to lure people to buy more food than their actual needs. They keep promoting for diverse products; moreover, they opt for alluring packaging and inaccurate facts to deceive people to buy order such products. Thus, at grocery stores, customers pay for vast numbers of commodities to discover later that they are of terrible quality. Consequently, this increases the waste of food tremendously. In addition, most people tend more now to live an extravagant lifestyle, as they opt for imitate others and show off. This eventually leads them to spend more money on food, for example during wedding ceremonies’ feasts.

There are some viable measures that could be applied in order to minimize food wastage problem. First, authorities should legislate laws in order to prevent people from throwing food away. Such as penalties enacted in Saudi Arabia for anyone who is proven to waste food regularly. In addition, governments can provide facilities in public places, fridges at malls for instance, so people can keep their extra food in it to be delivered to impoverished ones later on. Second, social services ought to raise people’s awareness towards the dire impacts of such issue; they may lead campaigns on mass and social media to promote the idea of caring for others, and such campaigns would act as a deterrent to this wastage.

To conclude, reasons leading to waste food are plenty, including adverts influence and lack of awareness, and authorities must ensure steps are taken in order to prevent such problem from deteriorating further.