Most large companies nowadays operate multi-nationally. TO what extent multinational companies have responsibilities toward local community in which they operate?

It is true that operational systems have changed greatly as vast numbers of enterprises opt for nationality diversity when employing their candidates. While some people believe that firms ought to operate in a way that serves local community, I opine that they should also consider what leverages their profits.

On the one hand, multinational companies benefit tremendously from opening more ventures worldwide. Such transcontinental expansion allows them to increase their revenues; therefore, they should reciprocate by hiring local people. This would definitely improve people’s life quality as well as society productivity. In addition, such firms exert extra pressure on local resources, such as water, gasoline and the like. Even if these companies pay taxes, this will not compensate for the loss of these nonrenewable resources. As a result, the more foreign companies focus on locals, the more fare the situation becomes.

On the other hand, people mistakenly believe that all the responsibility toward local community lies on the shoulders of foreign organizations. I personally hold the notion that such organizations have the right to target profit solely, and this would make them consider competence while employing people. Since these enterprises operate in a world of competitiveness, they should seek excellence by hiring the most qualified candidates. In addition, all companies have running costs, wages and utilities for instance, which require to continuously be fulfilled by skyrocketing the profits. Thus, it is justified why these firms may not be concerned with nationality when employing people.

To conclude, despite the responsibilities that foreign companies have toward local communities, I reiterate that they own the rights to sought for equip their positions with the most qualified personnel whether of local or foreign nationality.