The government’s investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. TO what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that investment in some fields of art ought to be waived to finance more crucial aspects, such as public services. While I accept the idea that people's everyday basic needs are of utmost importance, I agree that funding spiritual fields should not be underestimated by authorities.

On the one hand, financial resources should be allocated in order for public facilities get improved. As it is the fundamental role of the government to enhance people's daily lives, there ought to be non stoppable strategies in order to upgrade primary services such as education, healthcare, transportation, and the like. Fifty years ago, the Malaysian government applied several tactics targeting the development of public services, especially education; as a result, Malaysia now is one of the greatest economies in the whole world. This would not have been possible without prioritizing the elevation of public services levels.

On the other hand, I am convinced that art is an international language which does not need a translation; therefore, it is through art people of different nations can communicate feasibly. Such privilege may promote peace and decrease conflictions among nations. To exemplify, during one of the art contests, which hosts talents from multiple destinations, an artist managed to raise the awareness to war victims via drawing on sand, after which plenty of organizations had established in many countries calling for peace and funding those victims. That is to say, important causes could be put in the spot of light if art was allowed to speak out; thus, it is recommended pouring money to fund artistic fields.

To conclude, despite the paramount necessity of focusing on improving all public services, I reiterate that governments should place all art branches on their priority list.