Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. DO you agree or disagree?

Being one of the significant contributors to multiple complicated diseases and death all around the globe, smoking and tobacco-derived products ought to be prohibited by authorities in for the sake of people’s health. I entirely agree with the previous statement, and this essay will discuss the reasons for my opinion.

On the one hand, smoking has been a fatal threat for public health since decades owing to the fact that it can lead to plenty of drastic complications in health, such as lung cancer and heart failure. Not only smokers are subjected to such hazardous impacts but people surrounding them can also get affected by what is so called negative smoking. For instance, my late grandfather used to be a heavy smoker, and he unfortunately died with lung cancer; moreover, my mother and two of her siblings are all asthmatic due to negative smoking. Thus, people can lose their lives and may influence the lives of their beloved ones if they are cigarettes consumers.

On the other hand, due to the previous argument, governments have to take some measures, completely banning smoking for example, in order to save more lives from such horrible destiny. Singapore, which banned smoking and tobacco in the year 2016, is now recording the lowest rates of death due to lung diseases around the world. That is to say, people are obliged to pay attention to their preferences when there are enacted laws that force them to.

To conclude, due to negatively affecting people’s health and longevity, it seems to me that decision makers should take the lead and impose proper actions against cigarettes and tobacco commodities by banning them from society.