Social Media has helped us increase our virtual networks. This has isolated us physically, making us socially awkward in person.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Yes, I completely agree that people are becoming socially awkward and alone by the use of social networking sites, however, social media has enhanced our virtual circle with the people of various parts of the world. This essay will concentrate first on the fact that from the past few years, developments in the communication industry make this possible and then focus on the change of behavior in the people by the use of social networking sites.

To embark on, with the development in technology, easy access to the internet, and smartphones is possible now. Because of this, the feeling of pleasure and remaining up-to-date has been generated in humans. Various applications and sites are being developed with handy features to ensure its maximum usage by people. For example, the use of the Tik-Tok app has been tremendously increased for a few years and has kept people busy in generating unuseful content.

Second, because of the immense use of social media, a change in human behavior has been observed. People feel more comfortable scrolling on smart electronic gadgets for the entire day. This generates social awkwardness among individuals and makes them socially isolated. For example, now we are in the habit to find a solution to every problem in life from Google and YouTube, but we seldom ask for solutions from our parents or friends. This results in a loss of social connection with our very surroundings.

To conclude, I agree that social media has played a noticeable role in connecting virtually with the world, but it has been isolating us from our social circle.