Society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging.

Do you agree or disagree?

I somewhat disagree with the opinion that the prohibition on advertisements would serve the interests of society, because it is worthless and harmful. Advertising is beneficial to both the consumer and businesses, but unrestricted advertising could be aggravating to the public.

The main reason why I do not support this position is because advertising helps to promote new products, along with development of society. For each growing business, commercials are the main lever to present new products to the customers. Taking into account the fast growth of businesses and the constantly changing consumptional model, if the promotion of products is banned, then the link between businesses and customers would be severed. In fact, without advertisements,companies would find it difficult to reach out to potential customers. Another argument is that millions of people work for the creation of these commercials, and the jobs in this field are in high demand. During the last decades, many new jobs were created in the advertising sector, and these include copywriters, content managers, graphic designers, etc. A prohibition on advertisements would raise unemployment rates, and tension in society.

However, advertising is often disliked by society due to hard-selling techniques used by companies. Many businesses intend to trade more goods by launching annoying and disturbing commercials that are repetitively broadcasted on TV. A typical example of this is the when your favorite TV shows are continuously interrupted by ads of new perfume or cars. Furthermore, advertisements can cause impulsive consumption especially among young people. Some commercial techniques are aimed to force you to immediately purchases goods by sending you reminders via emails with personalised discounts, or offers of free products with your purchases.

In conclusion, I do not completely agree that advertisements should be banned as they have no goals and are damaging, because it serves to promote new goods and creates employment opportunities. However, it can be distracting due to the methods used to market products. Given the situation, I feel that governments should regulate advertisements to some degree, in order to protect the consumer.