Solutions to Make Our City a Better Place to Live

The past decade has witnessed the transformation of our city into a modern city. It is undeniable that this development process has brought us a lot of benefits such as more products to use, more jobs to do, and more entertainments to enjoy. However, the rapid development in recent years forces us to cope with some negative problems, and the significant one of these problems is the alarming rising amount of plastic waste. Because of its convenience and cheapness, we use more and more plastic in manufacturing and our daily lives without thinking about the fact that plastic is non-biodegradable and contribute to the pollution of our city seriously. It is about time we have to think of the solutions to this issue to make our city a better place to live.

The first solution to reduce plastic waste is raising the citizen’s awareness of how seriously the plastic garbage can ruin our city’s environment; and encouraging them to reduce, reuse and recycle the plastic waste. This action is crucial because we can only change our behaviors of using plastic products when we change our awareness and attitude. To put this solution into practice, the city authority need to organize campaigns, programs about this issue and also put it into school curriculum. In addition, as the local people, each of us should convince to our family members, our neighbors and our friends to try a zero plastic waste lifestyle.

Classifying waste to recycle instead of bringing all of them into landfill is another effective way to control this problem. The more plastic litters are recycled, the less amount of them ends up in landfills as trash. Although most of the plastic garbage is recyclable, the rate of recycling is now negligible as we do not sort our waste. The city’s authority has to make an effort to apply waste classification widely. Basically, we need to have a system of trash bins so that every household can put the waste into different categorizers and then the garbage trucks pick and bring the recyclable materials to the recycle facilities.

Moreover, raising more tax on plastic products can help us address our city’s problem. This financial method can lessen the amount of plastic waste in our city because consumers have a tendency to use less plastic products when the price of this material gets higher. For instant, if we must pay more money for plastic bags or containers when buying things in supermarket, many of us will reject using them and bring our own bags instead. In these years, many cities in the world has used this solution and got some positive results in decreasing plastic waste.

In conclusion, the increasing amount of plastic waste in our city is one of the serious issues that we have to deal with to help our city become a place worth living in. Raising resident’s awareness, sorting waste and raising more tax on plastic products are some of the possible solutions to this problem. Not only the city’s authority but also all local people should take responsibility for our better future.