In some area of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.What is your opinion on this?

There are some laws, which are imposed restrictions for teenagers to go out without their parents in some cities of the US. Although there are some benefits in this curfew, I personally believe that it could bring more disadvantages such as controlling of freedom and adding pressure on parents in unnecessary situations.

To begin with, decreasing the number of threats of going out without parents is the aim of these laws. Threats like rubbery or rape are on the rise in modern societies, which could endangered adolescents. If parents accompanied their children when they want to go out at night, fewer criminals dare to commit a crime. Therefore, these cities might be safer for young people.

On the other hand, such laws could decline people’s liberty. Sense of being controlled by the government is felt by those young men, which could lead to disobeying the rules because of the human need for freedom. For instance, the newspaper reported that controlling laws is broken by most of people. As well as this, because of today’s demanding lifestyle in many situations parents are not free to be with their teenagers at night, so these rules put an extra burden on their parents.

To conclude, although these curfew’s goal is to protect teenagers, at the same time, in reality, it has more drawbacks. In my opinion, it is more practical to let people decide how to go out in the night.