In some areas of the US, a curfew is imposed in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.

What is your opinion about this?

United States is popular in the world for enforcing strict laws such as curfews for the benefit of the nation, which prohibit juveniles from going outside alone in the late night hours. This law enforcement has both positive as well as negative impacts on the society. I have mixed viewpoints on this regard and this essay will discuss both viewpoints with suitable examples.

To begin with positive side, some of the US areas such as Chicago and San Diego have high crime rate, particularly in dark hours. A recent report generated by US Police Department, states that Chicago has reached on the top of the all other cities in terms of criminal activities taking place at dusk. Therefore, to ensure the safety of the minors from criminal activities such as juvenile kidnapping, there is a need to impose curfews.

On the other hand, arresting of juveniles during curfew time has detrimental effects on the society. One local newspaper has published that 90% of the arrested juveniles were black, while 10% were white, whereas the country has majority of the white population. This clearly shows the unbiased behavior by the cops, which certainly has a negative impact on the citizens of the country. Moreover, majority of the arrested children were neither drug takers, nor chain smokers nor involved in any other crime activities but were roaming around casually. Being caught by cops sometimes leave an impression of uncasual behavior by them, which later lead them to the victims of the bullying at school.

In conclusion, the US laws such as curfews were introduced by administration for the welfare of the nation but due to aforementioned affects, these laws impact the society negatively also.