In some areas of the US, a curfew is imposed in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.What is your opinion about this?

It is commonly known that some parents in the US impose curfew on their teenagers where they are not permitted to be outdoors beyond a particular time at night, provided they have an adult along with them. In my opinion, such restrictions are extremely imperative in order for the child to be safe and disciplined.

To begin with, children should not be allowed to go out in the night as it is very unsafe. Many bad influences namely drug peddlers and alcoholics frequent the streets once it gets dark. Moreover, naive and young children are an easy bait and are most likely to get caught in their schemes and traps. Secondly, once out of the house, parents who strive to keep them unharmed, are unable to provide any protection. For example, a recent statement released by the police encouraged parents to impose curfews to particularly prevent their unsuspecting children from perverts and criminals. Therefore, keeping their well being in mind, setting a time deadline is absolutely necessary.

Furthermore, children should be disciplined from an early age. During their formation years the importance of following rules should be inculcated. Although some exceptions can be made where, if the child is out beyond the agreed time they have to be accompanied by an adult. For instance, if a family is hosting a party, they should personally ensure that all the children are picked and dropped home safely to mitigate the risk of any unpleasant situations. Consequently, other parents will follow suit thus, displaying the quality of responsibility. While the child may not immediately understand the need of a curfew but it will definitely benefit them in the long run.

In conclusion, I believe this method must not only be practiced in the US but by parents all over the world. All in all it is vital to develop good ethics and safeguard all teenagers.