Some companies and organisations require their employees to wear uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing uniform?

It is a widely discussed debate whether or not uniforms are needed in workplace. In this essay we will discuss both the merits and demerits of wearing uniform.

Uniforms helps the workers to bring the sense of identity as well as the sense of belongingness in the organisation. Wearing same dress code not only lead to feeling of team spirit but the employees will also feel that they are a part of the organisation. Thus, motivating the employees to be more active and to work with more commitment and efficiency. Moreover, uniforms will also promote equality in company irrespective of their social status, hence superiority and inferiority complexion will not come in the minds of employees. Furthermore, uniforms are made organisation in order to ensure that their employees are protected from any kind of accidents and mishappenings. To elucidate, in firefighter stations, fire fighters are made obligatory to wear special suit and special helmets to protect them from flames, excessive heat and smoke.

However, wearing uniforms have some disadvantages for the workforce. Poorly designer work clothes can result in restricted performance. This may cause difficulty for the employees as the uniforms can lead to constricting their work output. To exemplify, fight stewardess is required to wear pencil skirts and high heels, in order to look presentable, but wearing high heels for a long duration of time will cause back pain, muscle pain and cramped legs. Additionally, wearing the same dress code can be monotonous and it also prevents uniqueness among employees and everyone is wearing the same dress. Employees have low self-esteem level as they feel that they are loosing their identity in the organisation.

To conclude, although wearing uniforms has some negative effects such as displeasure and discontent and boring by repeating the same dress everyday, it has extreme positive impact on companies such as feeling of part of the organisation, sense of equality and to protection against accidents. In my opinion, I do believe that the advantages of wearing uniforms far outweighs the disadvantages.