Some companies and organizations require their employees to wear uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing uniform?

Employees wearing uniform is a compulsion in some companies.Uniform can bring equality among employees and free advertisement for the company but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account.

On the one hand, there are number of advantages to wear uniform. Firstly, one benefit is that the employees can develop sense of equality as all workers, regardless of the designation and department, will be wearing the same uniform. This will also reduce discrimination between different ranking officers as office boy will be looking same as the manager. Secondly, wearing uniform with company logos and information will be acting as a free advertisement because employees will be travelling to and from work place and on the way they will be advertising to people around them. It can increase the area of advertisement to even different cities as some employees may travel from other cities to work. Thirdly, cost of buying uniform will be way lesser than the cost of buying color clothes as formal clothes shopping will be more often than the uniform because of the competition among employees to wear better clothes than their colleagues.

On the other hand, one problem of wearing uniform is that it gets monotonous for the workers as wearing same clothes everyday will become dull and less exciting for the employees. Especially women, as they like to wear different colorful clothes with matching accessories to the office but uniform will not be able to fulfill this. Another possible issue is that it would threat the company's image. For instance, if any of the employee will get involved in something bad while wearing company,s uniform then it will obviously affect the image of the company so adverse advertisement can also be a main problem of wearing uniform. One more downside of wearing uniform would be the frequency of changing it as mostly companies changes it after a year or two and in that time cloth gets deteriorated and so is the appearance of the employees resulting in less satisfaction by the employees towards their uniforms.

In conclusion, while there are many benefits of wearing uniform, it can also affect the image of the company and with time gets boring to wear same outfit each day.