Some countries are considering imposing curfews in which teenagers will not be allowed outdoors at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this policy?

Prohibition of teens to move outside their houses at night, if unaccompanied by an elder person, is being adopted by many countries in the form of imposing curfews. In my opinion, I agree that such night regulations will go a long way in improving the future of young people and benefits the families in the form of building relations.

To begin with, having tighter controls over teenagers going out at night, would certainly help in avoiding the risks they can cause to their future. In other words, children under 18, usually socialise during night parties, and the lack of maturity often entices them to indulge in drinking and turning to drugs, which can be very harmful for their future.

In many instances, minor crimes like vandalism, theft,and molestation that are committed at night, will be greatly reduced.

Another point to consider is that enacting rules for night vigilance would increase the family bonding time. As young people would be discouraged to move out, they will spend valuable time with their family members, resulting in better parent-child relationships, which may have been suffered owing to the more time devoted to friends instead with their siblings and parents. Moreover, this will minimise the family conflicts and arguments, which are common phenomena in the house, mainly when parents oppose their children going out at night.

In conclusion, although curfew curtail some freedom of youngsters, it provides a great deal of advantages in terms of protecting the teenagers against crimes that may be inflicted upon them while being alone outdoors during late hours, and also fostering mutual understanding between members of a family.