Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce these increasing levels of crime. To what extent do you agree?

The increasing crime-rate is matter of concern for most of the countries, creating a dilemma for officials in choosing the right strategy to crack down this predicament. Many governments came to an agreement that adding more officers to an already large police force is an effective deterrent against criminal activity. In my opinion, Along with strengthening of police defense system in the country, some other steps should also be taken to use advance technology and modern tools to ensure country's security.

Undoubtedly, the criminals are always fearful of armed cops on the streets, and it provides a sense of security among citizens. In other words, increasing surveillance on roads would make wrongdoers think twice before committing a crime; they would definitely hesitate taking a chance in such circumstances. Secondly, recruiting more officials in the law enforcement departments would allow less monitored areas to get equal attention like others. For instance, in the capital city of India, it is observed that snatching incidents have reduced by 75% because of the deployment of cops with Guns.

Moreover, having more police officials monitoring every area of a particular city provides a sense of security and the utmost safety among fellow citizens. People can sleep peacefully keeping in mind that they are being taken care of by the professional police officers. In addition, such officers are highly trained to tackle any kind of crime or uncertainty. To illustrate, the beautiful city of Chandigarh in India is popular for its zero or very less criminal rate resulting from extreme supervision from cops around the borders of city.

Apart from this, advanced monitoring tools like CCTV and scanners can help the police in patrolling; the footage can threaten the burglars as it would bring the offender behind the bars due to film captured. Thus, modern machines and its training play indispensable role in keeping the crime-rate under control.

To sum up, I pen down saying, increasing the staff in the police is the best way to handle this ever increasing crime. Besides providing satisfaction among the fellow citizens that they are protected at all times, it would increase fear among such wrongdoers and these people would be thinking twice before committing any sort of offense. Moreover, advance technologies can aid in patrolling and keeping crime under check.