In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In some nations, in spite of a decline in the number of severe offenses, the citizens feel more scared as compared to the past. The primary cause of this phenomenon is the chance of first-time offenders can commit crimes after their imprisonment. The most practical solution to train criminals for suitable jobs and have close supervision on them to deter them from committing crimes.

To begin with, the major cause of this fear among the general public is the probability of re-offense by first-time criminals. This is because of a lack of rehabilitation and a lack of opportunities for offenders to learn new skills during their imprisonment.

When criminals are released from jail, society does not accept them as citizens because of the stigma associated with them and also the employers will not give them work because they do not want to deploy anyone from a criminal background. Consequently, they feel isolated from society and lack of financial stability leads them back to crime.

There are two effective solutions to tackle this problem, firstly the government needs to ensure that all the prisoners are given the chance to retrain with some useful skills which will help them to secure some job and make them financially independent. It will help them to feel content and independent and help them to be a part of society. Secondly, there should be more checks and supervision to impede the offenders from indulging in crime. This supervision will also make society fearless and secure.

In conclusion, people feel frightened because of the chance of criminals again commit crimes after their sentence. The most effective solution is to train them in imprisonment and close supervision will make people feel safe.