Due to the rapid development and expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Supermarkets are gaining popularity in many countries. Some people argue that small local businesses are finding it extremely difficult to survive in the midst of swift growth and development of supermarkets and that the local communities would die out as the local businesses shut. I completely disagree with this argument and will try to explain in this essay why so.

The reasons for supermarkets becoming popular are manifold. Firstly, they give a single platform to customers where they can buy everything they need ranging from groceries to clothing and more. Consequently, they do not have to make multiple stops at different stores to get the needful, hence , making shopping extraordinarily convenient. Secondly, they offer a number of facilities including car park, toilets, deli counters, resting areas to make shopping a more comfortable and fun experience. Thus, pulling more and more customers and multiplying the business.

As more people opt to shop at supermarkets, local business's suffer loss and eventually shut down. However, that, in no way, result in local communities' death. Today's customers are resourceful and educated. They have the means of transportation and time to go to supermarkets as shopping has transformed into an entertainment. Convenience stores , however, still have a chance to survive by relocating to area where there is enough clientage. All in all, local communities can travel to supermarkets just fine and can easily survive in the absence of local convenience stores.

In conclusion, supermarkets have given local businesses a tough time. In my opinion, local stores can move to carry on and even if they do not, local communities will survive by shopping at supermarkets because they are capable of doing so.