In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The excessive fast food consumption in a few countries is causing health problems. Implementing higher taxes on it can solve those problems. This essay agrees that fast food companies should pay higher rate of tax. Firstly, this essay will discuss that alcohol and tobacco companies are already paying higher taxes and secondly, discuss how higher taxes would raise prices and lower consumption.

Higher excise on liqueur and cigarettes has proven to be successful at curbing the harm caused by these substances. This revenue is use to treat health problems associated with these products and has proven useful in advertising campaigns warning people about the dangers of alcohol and tobacco abuse. Tax from fast food could be used in the same way. The United Kingdom is a prime example, where money from smokers is used to treat lung cancer and heart disease. The UK is generating more than 70 per cent of treatment fund by taxing cigarettes.

Increasing taxes would raise prices and lower consumption. This is the law of economics that as the price goes up, the use of it declines. Fast food companies would pass on these taxes to consumers in the form of higher prices and this would lead to people not being able to afford junk food because it is too expensive. Junk food would soon become a luxury item and it would only be consumed occasionally, which would be less harmful to the general public’s health. For instance, the cost of organic food has proven prohibitively expensive for most people and that is why only a small percentage of the population buy it regularly.

In conclusion, the concern authorities should apply higher tax on junk food because of the good precedent set by alcohol and tobacco. Additionally, the increased cost should reduce the amount of fast food people buy. It is predicted that if necessary action is not taken, the fast food consumption will increase in future.