In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Fast food consumption, these days, is gaining popularity among people worldwide. The excessive intake of it in a few countries is causing health problems in growing number of people. Some people believe that governments should levy heavy taxes on this type of food. In my opinion, I completely agree with this viewpoint that governments ought to take part; however, other measures are also important.

To begin with, higher tariff implementation on the junk food by the concerned authorities is one of the most effective ways in reducing the consumption of it. This will increase the price of it and most poor people might not afford to buy it every day. As the law of economics states that as the price of goods soars, more people avoid buying it. For example, in India, the smoking and drinking habits became prevalent among youngsters in 2016. Therefore, the government of India imposed 25 per cent extra taxes on it and, as a result, cigarette and alcohol consumption significantly reduced during that year.

However, merely governments’ actions are not sufficient in curbing the use of it; in fact, an individual must also take part in it. As a person has more control on his own choices, therefore, he needs to be more conscious about unhealthy eating. Fat producing junk food should be avoided as much as possible. In addition, daily exercises can also mitigate unhealthy diet-related problems. According to health experts, those who exercise an hour a day, fat concentration in their body is 70 per cent lower than those who do not exercise.

In summary, eating junk food is having deleterious impact on person’s health. The government should levy higher excise on it, yet an individual ought to take other measures too in order to curb the hazards of it. If proper and swift action is taken, this problem can be resolved easily. It is recommended to lower the intake of fast food as much as possible because it is extremely harmful for our health.