In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.To what extent do you agree or disagree

In this contemporary world, the number of people suffering from health problems is being inclining with a great pace. Some individuals consider the excess intake of unhealthy eating stuff to be the major reason behind it and therefore believe that higher tax amount should be imposed on such items. This essay will argue as to why government bodies need to increase the tax on fast food but not beyond the limits.

People believe that junk food is responsible for making its consumers unhealthy and unfit because of some large amount of ingredients present in them that are not favorable for humans to live a healthy life. And, it is therefore necessary for the government authorities to take a strict action by increasing tax amount in order to minimize its consumption. For instance, sauces and dressings are the major constituents containing huge quantity of fats, trans-fats, et cetera, that found in almost every junk item; leading the society towards the health diseases like obesity, digestion. And if their prices would be raised, plethora of people will find it to be difficult to buy and eat it as it has already been difficult for people to earn their living due to high living cost and low income. That is why; there is a need of raising the cost of junk food.

However, I believe that raising the prices of such food items will only lower its consumption in lower and middle-class society because the higher class will never hesitate while spending their never-ending money. For example, most of the consumers of fast food come from higher class while the number of others is generally low. Thus, imposing higher taxes on junk food will never decline the sufficient amount of its customers and their health issues.

In conclusion, this essay argued why imparting huge tax on fast food is necessary but not beyond the limit. However, in my opinion, high price of these articles is never going to affect the health of people to a major extent and it is their sole responsibility to change their unhealthy eating habits to healthy ones.