Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is fact that there are several languages in the world and many of them extinct every year. Some people believe that the extinction of some languages is not a crucial problem since communication will be more effective and easy with fewer languages. However, I completely disagree with the statement and have given my reasons for it in the forthcoming paragraphs.

Predominantly, the disappearance of several languages year after year will lead to the cultural loss of the community linked to that language. Due to this, many communities will be at verge of extinction. For example, a survey was conducted which proved that new generation was unable to understand their own regional language due to its extinction. They were not even aware of their cultural language. Thus, the loss of certain cultures is directly linked to disappearance of their regional languages.

Also, the eradication of languages every year will create a generation gap between the people which will make old generation more prone to mental diseases like loneliness and suffocation. Also, it will create miscommunication between the young and old ones as the old people will find it difficulty to communicate with the young people in a language other than their native one. That is why, eradication of languages every year can affect the health of older generation.

In conclusion, the several languages shows the richness of world civilisations, thus they should be passed from generation to generation in order to save their heritage.