Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The last 50 years have witnessed a dramatic increase in the number of the languages threatened with extinction worldwide. Some claim that these losses will lead to convenience in communication whereas the opponents especially linguists predict that adverse consequences are inevitable leaving substantially effects on distinct social issues. Although there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I would content that the preservation of language is of essence to the development of any civilizations.

It is pivotal importance that the death of a particular language would entail losses of valuable cultural heritage of certain areas. In fact, languages are not simply a collection of lexical words; however, they are living organisms which convey the connection and association of long-lasting belief, doctrine, customs and so on of a certain group of people, or in other word, culture. Therefore, the eradication of languages is major factor leading to cultural degradation. For example, fairy tales, folk songs, lullabies depicting the thoughts and moral lessons of former generations will be eased if the language of their ancestors no longer exists. This means that traditional values are gradually faded away.

Equally importantly, the eradication of languages widens the gap between generations. Since languages cannot be transmitted to latter generations, senior citizens find it challenging to communicate with youngsters who are likely to be attracted by a different world outside their community because of the expansion of globalization nowadays. Consequently, not only are the seniors but also juniors trapped in their own world filled with loneliness and isolation which contributing to numerous mental illness as well as other negative impacts on the heath of people and society. Furthermore, miscommunication and misunderstanding will gradually break the bonding between children and parents or, generally, between the younger generations and their ancestors. It seems that there is no either willingness or desire in children for delving into their origin, which leads to the fact that people become losing their identities in this modern world.

In conclusion, it is of essence that the extinction of certain languages poses serious threats to society, namely the cultural heritage and bonding among member different generations within a community and especially the degradation of cultural diversity of human society.