In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In some parts of the world people arr preferring to live an independent life because of their convenience.

In my opinion, it is a better option to live on your own with no strings attached. Because in today's time with inflation touching the skies, it becomes impossible for people to make both ends meet if they are living in a joint family system. Firstly, in my culture male is the earning member of the family and he has to feed his entire clan, hence he has to work day and night to feed his family couple of meals a day. Secondly, he has to look after other expenses as well which includes children education and other benefits along with entire burden of his parents expenses and any sibling who is dependent upon him. Which makes it almost impossible for him to make things work efficiently and effectively. Furthermore, in most of the joint family systems there is unnecessary involvement of your parents and your siblings in your life which sometimes make you irritable. So, in order to avoid all such circumstances people in most of the countries are ailing towards secular lives.

On the contrary, some people still prefer to live with their whole family for many reasons. Which includeds moral support, financial support and someone to just vent yourself out with. They always have some one to lean on emotionally and mentally. Moreover, they stay together with each other through thick and thin of live.

But that's just not enough, you need space at times. Also, sometimes your jobs can be so demanding that you are not able to comfort your family they way they needed to be.

To sum it all up, living alone has better perks and privileges. You can have stress free life with no strings attached. Also, you can work according to your own way and in your own comfort zone which is the most important thing to do.